top of page
Search
  • streetphotoblogang

Tournament





What I like about Paris is that each arrondissement is different, each district has its history, its rhythm and its way of life. The Chinese district of Paris is located in the 13th arrondissement. That day, it's in this district that I decided to go for a walk to take some pictures. I got off at the subway stop "Porte d'Italie" where there are more than twenty huge buildings of nearly 20 floors in which is grouped in community, a large part of the Chinese diaspora. In the middle of these numerous buildings is a park where residents use to gather to practice activities that are practiced in China (martial arts, yoga, ping-pong). This Saturday morning, dozens of residents had organized a ping-pong tournament. I must say that I was quite happy because I was hoping that there would be some activity for my photo report. I approached the table that was the most lit by the sun and watched a few exchanges of a senior's match that pitted a small, very mobile woman against a tall man who did not move an inch during several exchanges. I was fascinated by this gentleman all dressed in blue. His face showed no expression, his body almost never moved, only his right hand was waving to send the ball back to the other side of the net. He ended up winning his match but I didn't stay long enough to know if he won the tournament.

After the match, the lady came to see me to ask if she could have a portrait of herself that I would send her later. Usually I'm the one who asks people if I can take their picture, so you can imagine that I was in a hurry to set up the camera and press the shutter button!


Raphaël

4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page